Councilman King Encourages District C High School Students to Apply for the 2024 Algiers Career and Educational Development Program

View as Webpage


Councilman King Encourages District C High School Students to Apply for the 2024 Algiers Career and Educational Development Program

NEW ORLEANS – Councilman Freddie King III of District C encourages community members to apply for this year’s Algiers Career and Educational Development (ACED) Program, AEDF’s career readiness program for Algiers high school students.

You can apply online via their website by clicking this link. The application deadline is Monday, February 5, 2024.

Program Details:
ACED is a five-month-long program held from February until June. Sessions occur from 9:00 am to 3:00 pm on one Saturday each month. The dates of each month’s session and lesson topics are as follows: 
February 24th: Financial Literacy 101 March 9th: Civic EngagementApril 20th: Resume Building WorkshopMay 18th: How to Ace the InterviewJune 8th: Graduation!

Please direct any questions to Mrs. Jackie Perry at We are excited to continue supporting the Algiers Economic Development Foundation through this great program!


Chuck Toney
District “C”
Councilmember Freddie King
504.658.1030New Orleans City Council

The New Orleans City Council is the legislative branch of the New Orleans city government. The Council considers and enacts all local laws that govern the City of New Orleans. The Council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City, as recommended by the mayor, and continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The City Council is also the regulatory body for public utilities. It also reviews and has the final say on many land use and zoning matters, as well as considers major economic development projects for the City. As a Board of Review for Orleans Parish, the Council examines appeals of property tax assessments for real estate taxes and certifies tax rolls to the Louisiana Tax Commission. Other responsibilities of the Council include overseeing the operation of the public access television in Orleans Parish. Streaming video and video archives of the City Council’s Regular and Committee meetings can be found on the City Council website.

The City Council is comprised of five districts and Councilmembers-at-large: Council President and Councilmember-at-Large Helena Moreno; Council Vice President and Councilmember-At-Large JP Morrell; District “A” Councilmember Joseph I. Giarrusso, III; District “B” Councilmember Lesli D. Harris; District “C” Councilmember Freddie King III; District “D” Councilmember Eugene J. Green, Jr.; and District “E” Councilmember Oliver M. Thomas, Jr.